

ENGLISH SEPARATE ELECTORS SELECT TRUSTEES FOR 4-YEAR TERM

The Northeastern Catholic District School Board is pleased to welcome new faces as well as returning incumbents around the Board table as a result of the 2006 trustee election held yesterday. Under new legislation, school board trustees as well as their municipal counterparts will now serve for a four-year mandate extending until November 30, 2010.

In Timmins, incumbents Colleen Landers and Peter Del Guidice will be joined by new Trustee Fred Salvador Jr. Current Trustee Jack Slattery did not seek reelection, opting instead to run as a municipal councillor in Ward 5. Voters in the Kapuskasing / Hearst area have elected a new trustee in the person of Denis Lincez, who be replacing current Trustee Paul Keating. In Iroquois Falls /Cochrane / Black River-Matheson, English separate school electors voted to reelect Elizabeth King.

The additional seats around the table were filled by acclamation with Trustee Martin Drainville returning for the Temiskaming Shores / Cobalt area. In the Kirkland Lake / Englehart zone, Trustees Steve Malciw and Rick Brassard will also continue to serve the Board.

Superintendent of Education Karen Rowe looks forward to working with both returning and newly elected members. "The office of trustee is a noble one which requires a real commitment to our most important stakeholders, our students," explained Rowe. "These individuals will serve as guardians of our Catholic system and see to the efficient operation of our schools and Board. Along with our seasoned veterans as well as new faces around the table, we will work together to ensure that decisions are made which best meet the needs of our learners. I wish to congratulate all of the candidates who presented themselves in this election to serve our Catholic school communities. I also would like to extend my sincere appreciation to Paul Keating and Jack Slattery who have devoted many years as advocates for our system. We are grateful for the sacrifices that they have made to fulfill their responsibilities to this public office over the past years."

The last meeting of the current Board of Trustees will take place on Thursday, November 30th. The new Board members will gather for their inaugural meeting on Saturday, December 16th, 2006.

The composition of the new Board of Trustees will be as follows:

- Zone A Kapuskasing / Hearst: Denis Lincez (elected, new trustee)
- Zone B Temiskaming Shores/Cobalt: Martin Drainville (acclaimed, incumbent)
- Zone C Iroquois Falls/Cochrane/Black River-Matheson: Elizabeth King (elected, incumbent)
- Zone D Kirkland Lake/Englehart: Rick Brassard (acclaimed, incumbent)
 - Steve Malciw (acclaimed, incumbent)

 Zone E - Timmins:
 Peter Del Guidice (elected, incumbent)

 Colleen Landers (elected, incumbent)

 Fred Salvador Jr. (elected, <u>new trustee</u>)

 Student Trustee:

 Taylor Columbus, O'Gorman High School

For more information, please contact: Mélanie Bidal-Mainville (705) 268-7443

